Nostalgia (A poem)

Fleeting memories of days long past
Smoldering in the back of my mind
Youth, love, betrayal
Bitter words uttered from mine own lips
Emotions in turmoil
A friendship broken by no fault but my own
The passing years fade grief to grey
The hardships passing swift
A life riddled with veiled regret
But lo
Contact, reconciliation
Imparting tales of recent days
A friendship born anew
Memories shared alight my path
Forgiveness passes my way
Joy and hope for what once was
Rekindling a fire I once knew
In memories of days long past

Note: You know when you do things and have to regret them for the rest of your life? I’m fortunate enough to have dodged that bullet. To my old friend: Thank you for finding me again.

Leave a Reply

